## CITY HALL CEDAR FALLS, IOWA, FEBRUARY 20, 2020 SPECIAL MEETING, CITY COUNCIL MAYOR ROBERT M. GREEN PRESIDING

The City Council of the City of Cedar Falls, Iowa, met in Special Session, pursuant to law, the rules of said Council and prior notice given each member thereof, in the City Hall at Cedar Falls, Iowa, at 6:00 P.M. on the above date. Members present: Miller, deBuhr, Kruse (via phone), Harding, Darrah, Sires, Taiber. Absent: None.

52694 - It was moved by deBuhr and seconded by Miller that Resolution #21,893, approving immediate implementation of the Public Safety Program including reorganization of the Public Safety Department, be adopted. Public Safety Services Director Olson responded to questions and comments by Councilmembers Harding, Sires, Taiber, Miller, Darrah and deBuhr.

Following a presentation by Public Safety Services Director Olson, it was moved by Miller and seconded by Darrah to allow questions and comments by Councilmembers after public speaker comments. Motion carried unanimously.

Councilmembers and city staff responded to questions and comments by the following individuals throughout public comment.

The following individuals spoke in opposition to the immediate implementation:

Daniel Trelka, 173 Graceline Boulevard, Waterloo

Jeremy and Tracy Sulentic, 1008 Rocklyn Street

Emily Thode, 1710 Iowa Street

Greg Saul, 1825 West Greenhill Road

Amy Miller, 1922 Pin Oak Drive

Thomas (T.J.) Frein, 1319 Austin Way

Jeremy Sulentic, 1008 Rocklyn Street

Penny Popp, 4805 South Main Street

Linda Minikus, 1626 West Lone Tree Road

Richard Hinz, 1219 Western Avenue

Brandon Pflanzer, 613 Charismatic Lane, Iowa City (representing the Iowa

Professional Firefighters Association)

Marybeth Boelts, 610 West 6th Street

Whitney Smith, 2904 Neola Street

Dale Ohl, 3609 Clearview Drive

Sam Brown, 19 Riverview Drive NE, Iowa City

Sharon Regenold, 108 Lilliput Lane

Art Lupkes, 3227 Midway Drive

Nancy Moeller, 1029 Barrington Drive

Rich Boesen, 3219 Midway Drive

Troy Winters, 1517 West 12th Street

Sheri Purdy, 134 Margene Court, Raymond

Cathy Pingel, 311 Angie Drive

Amanda Peyton, 1118 Rocky Ridge Road

The following individuals spoke in support of the immediate implementation: Jason Mehmen, 1107 Eagle Ridge Road Kelly Dunn, 915 Royal Drive Jenny Leeper, 1304 Washington Street Natalie Lang, 2116 South Oak Avenue Paula Fischels, 1327 Lake Ridge Drive

Rick Sharp, 1623 Birch Street, commented on the role of the mayor. Shawn Frederiksen, 1109 Columbine Drive, spoke about a lack of teamwork.

The Mayor announced a short recess from 8:05 P.M. to 8:15 P.M. and continued with public comment and discussion upon reconvening.

Following additional questions and comments by City Councilmembers, and responses by Director Olson, it was moved by Taiber and seconded by Darrah to amend the motion to add establishment of a continuous improvement panel or taskforce to explore issues through this reorganization process. Upon further clarification and a statement by Mayor Green, the motion to amend was withdrawn by Councilmember Taiber.

The Mayor then put the question on the original motion and upon call of the roll, the following named Councilmembers voted. Aye: Miller, deBuhr, Kruse, Darrah, Taiber. Nay: Harding, Sires. Motion carried. The Mayor then declared Resolution #21,893 duly passed and adopted.

It was then moved by Miller and seconded by Kruse to refer to city staff creation of a taskforce to address issues during implementation of reorganization. The motion carried 5-2, with Harding and Sires voting nay.

Lisa Roeding, Controller/City Treasurer

52695 -	It was moved by Kruse and seconded by Miller that the meeting be adjourned at 9:50 P.M. Motion carried unanimously.